NOW ENROLLING FOR THE FALL SEMESTER. GET STARTED

RELIGIOUS STUDIES

BACHELORS OF ARTS

OUR MISSION

The Bachelor of Arts in Religious Studies gives students a thorough introduction to philosophical and religious thought in the global world with special emphasis on Christian and African American religious thought. Students who complete a degree in Religious Studies will be equipped as leaders with critical reasoning skills, aware of foundational philosophical, theological, biblical, and historical ideas that have shaped contemporary cultures around the world and be prepared to pursue further graduate work in seminary or divinity school and to compete for jobs in areas such as law, public and international policy, civil and human rights organizations churches and other religious organizations, and nonprofit organizations.

A MESSAGE FROM THE DEPARTMENT CHAIR

Religious Studies at Simmons is rooted in the traditions and practices of the Black church, which are brought together with the best broad biblical and theological thought. We focus on issues relevant to the African American context, and we pride ourselves on having professors who are long on starting robust conversations and debates in class, and short on pontificating. Whether you want to grow in ministry or learn more about biblical or theological scholarship, we welcome you to join us at Simmons!

FACULTY

STAFFTITLEEXTEMAILCREDENTIALS
Caldwell, Christopher MDean of Faculty5164ccaldwell@simmonscollegeky.eduB.A. - English, Rhodes College, Memphis, TN

M. Div. - Southern Baptist Theological Seminary, Louisville, KY

Ph.D. - Religion, Baylor University, Waco, TX
Robinson, Ronnie D.Adjunct Facultyrrobinson@simmonscollegeky.edu
Veliquette, Roger CAdjunct Instructorrveliquette@simmonscollegeky.edu
Washington, ValerieAdjunct Facultyvwashington@simmonscollegeky.edu
Sawyer, David RAdjunct Facultydsawyer@simmonscollegeky.edu
Adams, Darvin AAdjunct Instructordadams@simmonscollegeky.edu
Snardon, David LAdjunct Instructordsnardon@simmonscollegeky.edu
Thomas, MaxineAdjunct Facultymthomas@simmonscollegeky.edu

ARE YOU READY?

Start your Simmons journey today!

OTHER OPTIONS

Take a look at all of our degree programs!

1018 South 7th Street

Louisville, Kentucky 40203

(502) 776-1443

© 2021 Simmons College of Kentucky.

All Rights Reserved

Simmons College of KY has been approved to participate in the National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements.

None of the Simmons College of KY programs lead to licensure.

Simmons College of Kentucky is nationally accredited by the Association of Biblical Higher Education

YOU ARE NOW LEAVING SIMMONSCOLLEGEKY.EDU!